Nominations open for Denman, Newman awards

The nomination process is open for two awards to be given to clergy, laity and youth in the Great Plains Conference.

The Harry Denman Evangelism Awards

Named for the late Dr. Harry Denman, distinguished lay evangelist, whom Dr. Billy Graham called “my mentor in evangelism,” the Harry Denman Evangelism Awards honor a United Methodist clergy, youth and lay person in each annual conference who has exhibited outstanding efforts in Wesleyan evangelism by faithfully carrying out the mission of “making disciples of Jesus Christ.”

If you know someone who practices the Great Commission by actively helping people experience the transforming love of God through Jesus Christ, nominate him or her for this award.
Download a brochure with more information about the award.

Nominations must be postmarked no later than April 1, to be considered for 2017.

The Angie Newman Award

Angie Newman (1833-1910) was active at many levels in the Methodist Episcopal Church (MEC), the Woman’s Foreign Missionary Society of the MEC, the Woman’s Home Missionary Society of the MEC and the WCTU. In 1888, Angie was the first woman elected as a delegate to General Conference. While she and other women were denied seats on the floor, they made their presence known and worked so that women would have the privilege of voice and vote at General Conference.

The Angie Newman Award is to honor a laywoman of the Great Plains Conference of the United Methodist Church (UMC) whose contribution to the church and the community is an example of the spirit of Angie Newman. The ministry of the recipient should demonstrate commitment, compassion and a sense of justice for all people, especially women, youth and children.  Click here to learn more about the Angie Newman Award.

If you know a laywoman who contributes to the church and community with a ministry that demonstrates commitment, compassion and a sense of justice, nominate her for this award. Nominations should be submitted in the form of an essay explaining how she has exemplified Angie Newman’s spirit.

Download the flier for more information about the award.

Nominate someone for the Angie Newman Award.

Nominations must be received no later than April 1, to be considered for 2017.


Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published.