Meg Carney Recognized at “Youth Salute” Awards

Congratulations to Elkhorn Hills UMC member Meg Carney, a senior at Elkhorn High School. She was one of 82 high school youth leaders from 44 metro-area schools recognized at this year’s “Youth Salute” Awards Ceremony. A December 4, 2019, Douglas County Post Gazette article provided these details.

About the Youth Salute Awards

The Greater Omaha-Council Bluffs Area Council on Youth Leadership was formed in 2018 to conduct the “Youth Salute” in nearby counties in cooperation with the National Council on Youth Leadership, a non-profit organization.

Teachers, guidance counselors, and principles nominate students to apply to attend the “Youth Salute” event. In order to qualify, the student must be a junior (senior class of 2019), have a 3.0 GPA or better, and have held at least two leadership roles to which they were chosen by their peers or an adult leader within the past two years in school, religious or community sponsored organizations.

Meg Carney

Meg Carney, of Elkhorn High School, is the daughter of Joel and Shaini Carney of Omaha. Leadership roles Carney has taken on in her career include: web managing editor for the Antler Express Newspaper (2018-2019); Elkhorn Hills United Methodist Church Youth Council Chairperson (2016-2019); a regular volunteer at Heartland Hope Mission (9th grade to present); Agents of Change (Random Acts of Kindness Group (10th grade to present); and many other academic, sports, and religious roles and honors.

The Awards Ceremony

This year’s “Youth Salute” Awards ceremony was hosted at Bellevue University. A “Top Youth Leader” was named for each of the 44 high schools recognized. Awards were provided to “Youth Leaders of the Year” and “Youth Salute Spirit.” Four “Top Youth Leaders” will represent the metro area chapter as National Chapter Delegates and were awarded an all-expense paid trip to the National Leadership Conference being held in St. Louis in October.

Participating universities/colleges provided the opportunity for students to be awarded up to $116,000 in scholarships and other awards. This year, scholarships were provided by Bellevue University, Nebraska Wesleyan University and Clarkson College. The University of Nebraska -Lincoln and the University of Nebraska-Omaha attended the event.

Featured keynote speaker, Bill Treasurer, nationally recognized best-selling author, CEO and leadership expert, led the worship portion of the event. Lisa A. Utterback, Chief Officer of Students and Community Services from Omaha Public Schools, was the master of ceremonies for the award presentations.

More Information

Applications for the upcoming 2020-2021 Youth Salute event will be accepted beginning in November. To apply or for more information, visit the youth salute website or call 402 733-1333.

One Comment

  1. Hughes Morris and Margret Elley

    Congratulations, Meg, on your leadership honors . We are proud to have you in our Elkhorn Hills Family !

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *